ACEC founds the Rotary International Interact Club

WADESBORO — On February 10, Anson County Early College (ACEC) established a Rotary International Interact Club, inducting 37 new members.

“I believe having the Rotary Interact Club at Anson County Early College gives students the opportunity to develop a sense of social awareness,” said ACEC Director Carrie Decker. “By engaging in community service, students become active members of their community and see firsthand the lasting and positive impact they can make in the world.”

CRCA’s Interact club joins a network of Rotary International clubs in Anson County. For over 10 years, the Anson High Interact Club has served the community and school through canned food drives, school beautification projects and more. Wadesboro Rotary Club established in 1927 has a long history of community service. As a sponsor of local Interact clubs, the Wadesboro Rotary Club supports leadership development in these young adults.

Wadesboro Rotary Club President Stephanie Wilson spoke about the history of Rotary International and Interact.

“More than 100 years ago, a man had a vision to create a club where professionals from different backgrounds could build relationships, exchange ideas and serve their community. Today, more than one million Rotarians worldwide and 450,000 Interactors strive to achieve the same level of integrity and service.

Special guest, Rotary International District 7680 Governor Nico Iannelli spoke about opportunities for Interact members locally and globally, including a 4-day world-class leadership development seminar over the summer and study abroad programs. Additionally, Iannelli announced that he would help fund their first service project around food insecurity.

“This club already has many plans for school and community service projects. We are proud to welcome these motivated and ambitious students to Rotary International and look forward to helping them achieve their goals,” said Wilson.

The following students were inducted at the event: My’Kajziha Bennett, Payton Buckingham, Maddie Burr, Morgan Burr, Lidia Cano-Luna, Sheila Chau Corneise Covington, Katrina Cruz, Lauren Dutton, Zaria Elliott, Amirra Flowers, Mariana Greene , India Hamilton, Dominick Hammond, Demitri Hammond, Susan Harrington, Allison Honeycutt, Justyce Ingram-Simons, Aalysa Liles, D’Asia Lindsey, Wykeria Little, Maleyiah Lowery, Angelica Lugo, Xylia Marshall Isabella Greene, Leah McLaurin, Sukari McLendon, Gracie Mills, Alexsandra Nunez-Crespo, Reace Parker, Jasmine Polk, Sydney Storz, Rowdy Railton, Nevaeh Sturdivant, Reagan Tyner, Siyanna Webster and Abigail Wilson.

The following students will serve as officers: Abigail Wilson as Club President, Susan Harrington as Vice President, Nevaeh Sturdivant as Secretary, Payton Buckingham as Treasurer, D’Asia Lindsey as Director of Services Community Services, Morgan Burr as Director of Club Services and Allison Honeycutt as Director of Fundraising. Rhonda Benton will act as an educational advisor.

Caroline Goins is Executive Director of the Anson County Partnership for Children and Assistant District Governor of Rotary International Interact.

To support Anson Record, call 704-994-5474 or visit

Comments are closed.